Our Lonely Cassini

FACEBOOK
FACEBOOK
TWITTER

As we all wave good-bye to our friend Cassini–Huygens we think back on its storied space flight to Saturn and the exploration that it has been doing out there all alone with only 1997 tech on board… 1997 the year of its birth and the twenty years that have passed and a lot on our planet has passed maybe not in geologic terms but in human tech terms a bunch. OK there you were at your friends house playing the original play-station and thinking graphics just couldn’t get any better “its so life Like” and well we still were using windows 95 and only folks with a thousand dollars to spend had a CD burner we listened to real player for our MP3’s. The tech on board was state of the art the 5000 or so people who designed it put it together then let it go and continue to work on it are some of our greatest minds with so much to be proud of. So here is Cassini out there with this twenty year old tech and as far as i can tell its doing its job flawlessly. The interactions it has with earth seem to keep it from getting to lonely and it sends data back like a boss even making its own music like the recent hit “flying thru the particles” and the follow up “where are all the particles”… Cassini will end its service Sept. 15: Cassini’s Final Entry into Saturn’s Atmosphere begins at 10:44 a.m. UTC (3:44 a.m. PDT). Spacecraft loss of signal comes one minute later at 10:45 a.m. UTC (3:45 a.m. PDT).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

|